My Undercover Grad Roommate: 1

She wasn’t supposed to be here. She wasn’t meant to see this. I thought she went to class.

“‘Rele, what are you doing with my laptop?” Her eyes had begun sparking with anger. She’s usually angry and secluded now.

“Uhm…”I gulped. “Nothing really. I was just checking some vacancies online. I need a part-time job”.

Lying didn’t come easy to me but I had no choice. I couldn’t let her know that I’d just found out the secret she’d been hiding for the past 8 months since we were assigned to be roommates. If she knew I knew, I couldn’t imagine what she’d do to me.

“‘Rele, I know you’re lying. I’m not stupid. What were you doing with my laptop?”.I knew Mount Vesuvius was about to blow but I couldn’t defuse it. Anytime she spoke so calmly, that’s when she was usually the most angry. She is always particular about not entering her room.

Curiosity had killed many cats. I was wishing it wouldn’t kill me today. My love for deciphering puzzles seems to be really out of line today.

I prayed for a pig to fly across the window; something, anything to distract her while my brain scrambled to look for a more believable lie. 

“Yasmin. You know I’m not capable of lying. And I never said you were stupid. Why would you say that? Why would you even think that? What is wrong  with you?”

I knew the only way to escape this confrontation was to be on the offensive/defensive. Whatever they call it. I just wanted to run.

“‘Rele”. That was the third time in a row. She never most often called my name. She just ignored me.

“I’d let you go this time. But I don’t ever want to see you near my laptop or my room again!”. She barked that last word. Made me think of a rottweiler.

Now that I knew she was even more dangerous than one. I couldn’t let her see how afraid I was of her.

“Fine. I’m sorry. I just heard there were some really cool vacancies online”. I sighed, trying my best to sound bad.

She stared at me, opened the door and when I was out of her room, closed it. I could hear the turning of the key in the lock.

Bummer. Nothing like finding out your grad roommate is actually an assassin.

Follow us, like, share and comment for more.

Leave a Reply

